Eminem

Eminem.Pro

Stan Lee: Saying Goodbye to the Legend Responsible for Eminem’s Legacy

Stan Lee: saying goodbye to the legend responsible for Eminem's legacy

The 12th of November, 2018 marked the day that we lost the man that made an undefinable impact on the world of comics – the legendary, Stan Lee. And, if we think of the universe this man has created, this means the end of a whole era.

Author: Katerina Malik and Aleksey Zakharenkov.

A dreamer, a visionary, the one that always remained a kid at his heart, and in a good way (his numerous cameos in movies based on his own written scripts and produced by Stan Lee himself are the best manifestation of the fact). He was the greatest influence on people he worked with, however, he will always be even in hearts of those who have never met him, the ones that knew him only through his works. Stan Lee’s works of art inspired and grasped the hearts of generations. One of those, “Marveled” by the great universe of Mr. Lee was Marshall Bruce Mathers III, another visionary, yet in another universe, better known to the whole world as rap artist, Eminem.

Eminem’s love of comics is a topic discussed by many, it has been covered in interviews and articles throughout his career. In this story, I will try to tell the tale of how Stan “The Man” Lee influenced the life of Marshall “Rap God” Mathers.

Eminem-X-Marvel-4-550x367[1]

When you hear about Eminem’s “addiction” to comics, first thing that comes to mind is the “Eminem/Punisher: Kill You” feature or the special issue of “The Mighty Avengers” with Eminem sitting beside Iron Man on the porch of Marshall’s childhood home. But that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Comics and the superhero universe played a big role throughout the artist’s life. From his teens, when a premature Marshall was trying to run away from the dim lights of an abusive family to the moment when his life became a piece of art itself, the comic books continued to influence his thought process becoming the source and integral part of jagged-edged hip-hop lyrics.

Eminem himself claims he always loved comics, especially vintage ones, and that he is quite knowledgeable in the topic.

I’ve always been into comic books. Spiderman, Hulk, old Batmans, Supermans — mostly vintage Marvel s**t from before I was born. Just being able to have those pieces of history is crazy. I would not want to face off with somebody comparing comic book knowledge, but I know a pretty good amount.

Eminem’s collection of comics is also a controversial topic. Senior Director of A&R for Shady Records, Riggs Morales, called Eminem’s collection “Otherworldly”. According to him, Marshall has items that aren’t even on display at the stores. Morales said that the rarest comic he’s seen was Eminem’s’ “Amazing Fantasy” #15, where Peter Parker and Spider-Man make their first appearance. The price for such a piece can range up to millions of dollars, depending on the condition it’s in. Unfortunately that is the only credible source of information about Eminem’s collection. Let’s hope that someday the artist decides to share it with the world or at least to speak more of it in an interview.

By the way, in one of the interviews Em jokingly said that he could have been a comic book artist, if he didn’t make it in hip-hop. That’s not far away from the truth though, as a young kid, he used to be pretty good at drawing stuff in his school notebooks, which is probably part of the reason why he flunked. Damn, where are those drawings now? They’re probably worth no less than the “Amazing Fantasy” #15 🙂

In his latest collaboration with Marvel, the soundtrack for the “Venom” motion picture, Eminem digs deeper and goes a bit fur-ther than his regular comic book references. In the track that shares the same title, Eminem uses his music and the way he influences people with it as a metaphor for the symbiotic organism featured both in the movie and the comics. He showed us that he’s also the baddest Venom fan in the process (Read in detail). Eminem also chose the song to perform atop the Empire State.

Building, the symbiote became one of the main themes in the two videos shot for his latest unexpected studio album.

Eminem’s whole artistic journey is intertwined with the creations of Stan Lee and other comic book writers. His love for “The Man” is evident and you can see that through his works. Stan Lee was not just an entertainer, he strived to make the world a better place, just as Marshall did with his lyrics. Stan’s message in X-Men was, in his own words, that being different is not a disadvantage, it is what makes you stronger, what makes you stand out. This concept is the platform for Eminem’s great legacy up until his latest work, you can see it as distinctly as a red stroke of paint on a blank canvas. Such different minds, yet both of them used their talent to brake boundaries and show this world, full of hatred and envy, that every one of us is unique and everyone deserves a shot, an opportunity to prove themselves.

November 12th, 2018, the day the world lost one of the greatest superheroes in the fight against evil. However, his legacy will live forever in hearts of many, and through the ink of an angry blond turned global icon and hip-hop legend.

November 12th, 2018, the day the world lost one of the greatest superheroes in the fight against evil. However, his legacy will live forever in hearts of many, and through the ink of an angry blond turned global icon and hip-hop legend.

EJ #31 Available Now

EJ Magazine Special #31 Available Now (happy birthday Eminem)

#RAPXMAS

Merry #RapXmas to you!

EMINEM.PRO REVIEW OF “REVIVAL”

EJ Magazine Special “Revival” Issue Available Now (First time in English)

EJ CELEBRATES ITS 5TH ANNIVERSARY

EJ Magazine Special “Revival” Issue Available Now (First time in English)

EJ Special “Festival Season” Issue

EJ Magazine Special “Festival Season” Issue Available Now

EJ Magazine (First time in English)

EJ Magazine Special “Revival” Issue Available Now (First time in English)

Ask About Revival Promo site

Ask About Revival Promo site

REPORTS FROM EMINEM’S SHOWS IN THE UK

Ask About Revival Promo site

WE EVERYWHERE

Some more interesting stuff from Eminem.Pro

About ePro

Main site
About
Terms of use
Vicancies
ePro editorial board site

EJ Magazine

EJ Magazine site
EJ #31 “Kamikaze” Issue
EJ #30 “Revival” Issue
EJ #29 “Festival Season” Issue

Our app

iPhone app
Android app
EJ for Android

Project #SR15

#SR15: Part 1 (Eminem.Com 1999)
#SR15: Part 2 (Eminem.Com 2000)
#SR15: Part 3 (Eminem.Com 2002)
#SR15: Part 4 (Eminem.Com 2004)

Eminem's Legacy

List of all Eminem’s songs
Full list of songs featuring Eminem
The full list of Eminem’s awards
Eminem production list

Our author’s materials

Review of “Kamikaze”
Report from Revival Tour
Review of “Revival”
In memory of Stan Lee
#RapXmas 2018
Thoughts on “Venom” video
Revival promo-site
“Kamikaze”: First impression

Mom's Spaghetti

“Kamikaze” debut
Revival tour overview
Amazing show @ Coachella
Eminem crushes NRA
Happy New Year!
Revival tracklist info

We in social media:

YouTube
ePro Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Google+
Google+ group
Tumblt
EJ Twitter

Eminem

НОВОСТИ

Стэн Ли: прощание с легендой, оказавшей влияние на всё наследие Эминема

Eminem X Marvel

12 ноября 2018 не стало Стэна Ли, человека, чьё влияние на развитие индустрии комиксов невозможно переоценить. С уходом Стэна Ли ушла целая эпоха, осиротели миры, им созданные.

Мечтатель, фантазёр, до конца остававшийся ребёнком в самом лучшем смысле этого слова (чего стоят его многочисленные камео в фильмах, созданных по его сценариям или спродюсированных им), оставил глубокий след в душах тех, с кем когда-либо работал, но о его кончине скорбят даже те, кто никогда не встречался с ним лично, и знаком с ним лишь по его работам. Творчество Стэна тронуло, вдохновило и покорило целые поколения. Одним из тех, кого очаровали вселенные мистера Ли, стал Маршалл Мэтэрс.

О глубокой любви Эминема к комиксам ходят легенды, её не раз обсуждали в интервью и статьях. Сегодня, отдавая дань уважения Стэну Ли, мы попытаемся рассказать, как Человечище (прозвище Стэна Ли, Stan «The Man» Lee) повлиял на мальчика, ставшего впоследствии Богом Рэпа.

Eminem X Marvel

Когда говорят о привязанности Эминема к комиксам, первое, что приходит на ум — выпуск комикса Eminem/Punisher: Kill you, а так же специальное издание Могучих Мстителей с Эминемом и Железным человеком на фоне старого дома Маршалла в Детройте на обложке. Но эти очевидные факты не являются полной картиной, обрисовывающей присутствие графических романов в жизни артиста. Многочисленные обрывки информации дают нам право предполагать, что комиксы являются значимой частью существования Эминема, и зачастую являются для него вдохновением, а образы из них периодически становятся художественным средством передачи мыслей рэпера.

Сам Эминем говорил, что всегда любил комиксы, особенно винтажные, и что он обладает довольно обширными познаниями в этой области:

«Мне всегда нравились комиксы, Человек-паук, Халк, старые Бэтманы и Супермены – в основном «винтажный» марвел, комиксы, которые были выпущены еще до моего рождения. Простая возможность обладать этими кусочками истории – это уже просто нереально круто. Я бы не хотел ни с кем мериться своими знаниями в комиксах, хотя я много чего знаю».

Eminem and Stan Lollapalooza 2016 Argentina

О коллекции комиксов Эминема ходит множество слухов, исполнительный продюсер Shady Records Риггс Моралес назвал ее «неземной», хотя видел её лишь мельком. Он утверждает, что в коллекции Маршалла представлены даже выпуски, которые невозможно найти в магазинах. Самым редким экземпляром в коллекции Риггс назвал выпуск «Amazing Fantasy» #15, в котором первые появляются Питер Паркер и Человек-Паук. Стоимость этого издания может доходить до миллионов долларов, в зависимости от состояния.

К сожалению, на этом достоверные свидетельства о коллекции Эминема заканчиваются, но возможно когда-нибудь артист решит показать ее миру или хотя бы рассказать о ней.

Кстати, в одном из интервью Эм говорил, что если бы он не стал рэпером, то вполне возможно стал бы автором комиксов. В недавней совместной работе с Марвел, одноимённом саундтреке к фильму «Веном», Эминем углубился в тему и пошёл дальше своих обычных комиксовских «пасхалок» — сравнил себя с главным героем, пришельцем-симбиотом, показав в тексте глубокие познания материала (подробнее об этом читайте тут). Именно эту песню Маршалл выбрал для впечатляющего выступления на Эмпайр-Стэйт Билдинг. А тема темной симбиотической субстанции стала главной в двух клипах на композиции с его последнего альбома.

Весь творческий путь Эминема пронизан любовью и привязанностью к творчеству Стэна Ли и других авторов комиксов. Стэн Ли не просто развлекал своими работами, он старался делать мир лучше, и в этом они схожи с сегодняшним Маршаллом. Стэн говорил, что Люди Икс это его попытка показать, что отличаться — это нормально, и что твои отличия не делают тебя парией, а наоборот, вполне способны сделать героем. Эта же идея проходит красной нитью через все наследие Эминема, и становится все более явной и оформленной в его последних работах. Такие разные люди, оба бескрайне талантливые, но совершенно не похожие, используют каждый свой талант для того, чтобы донести до мира, полного ненависти и неприятия, одну мысль: мы все разные, и каждый из нас заслуживает равного отношения и равных шансов.

12 ноября мир потерял одного из борцов с темной стороной нашего мира. Но его наследие будет жить, и в том числе в творчестве Эминема.

Рубрика: Eminem | Метки: , , |

Комментарии

Не забудь скачать приложение #EminemPRO

app_reclama2

Приложение Eminem PRO для Android Приложение Eminem PRO для iPhone и iPad

Ещё интересные материалы про Eminem:

Читай бесплатно в приложении

EMINEM journal

МЕНЮ

ФИЕРИЧЕСКОЕ ШОУ «SHADY 2.0 SXSW SHOWCASE» НА ФЕСТИВАЛЕ SXSW В AUSTIN MUSIC HALL Подписка на EMINEM journal
На нашем сайте вы найдёте ещё много интересного:

Проект ePro

О проекте
Кто делает «Eminem.pro»
Вакансии
Условия использования
Логотип
Сайт редакции
Журнал EJ (рус.)

About Project ePro

About
Terms of use
Edition
EJ Magazine

Обратная связь

Яндекс-виджетНовинка
Новости по RSS
Новости по E-mail

Эксклюзив EJ

Интервью с Keely Ferguson
Интервью с DJ Tony Touch
Репортаж со Stade de France
Конкурс от EJ и Universal Music

Переводим

The Way I Am Book
Рассказ Андреа Агилар
Shady Bizzness
Eminem Cover StoryНовинка

Наши подборки

Cписок всех песен Эминема
Cписок всех песен Slaughterhouse
Cписок всех песен Yelawolf
Что спродюсировал Eminem?
История позиций в чартах
Коллекция фан-рисунков

Это надо прочитать!

Интервью Эминема для Биллборд
Интервью с Полом Розенбергом
Eminem на Town Hall
Разгадка трека «Rap God»
Интересности от автора «The Monster»
BET Hip Hop Awards 2013

Мы в сети:

Google+
Группа Google
Tumblt
Instagram
Twitter команды ePro
Twitter журнала EJ
Facebook
YouTube